Skip navigation


Marjorie Weston Emerson Award

The Mozart Society of America invites nominations for the Marjorie Weston Emerson Award, a $500 prize given annually for outstanding scholarly work on Mozart published in English during the two previous calendar years. The Award will be given in alternate years to books and editions, and to essays and articles. The 2015 Award will be for the best book or edition published in 2013 or 2014.

The selection is made by a committee of Mozart scholars appointed by the President of the MSA, with approval from the Board of Directors.

The Emerson Award Committee would be grateful to receive nominations from Mozart Society members of eligible articles. Please send nominations to John Platoff

The nomination deadline is: June 15, 2015.

The Society reserves the right not to award the prize in a given year.

Winners of the Marjorie Weston Emerson Award

2014: Nicholas Baragwanath, "Mozart’s early chamber music with keyboard: traditions of performance, composition and commodification" in Mozart’s Chamber Music with Keyboard, edited by Martin Harlow (Cambridge University Press, 2012)  

2013: Simon P. Keefe, Mozart's Requiem: Reception, Work, Completion (Cambridge University Press, 2012)

2012: Roman Ivanovitch, "Mozart's Art of Retransition" (Music Analysis 30/1 (2011): 1-36)

2011: Daniel Heartz, Mozart, Haydn, and Early Beethoven, 1781–1802 (Norton, 2009)

2010: Dorothea Link,"The Fandango Scene in Mozart's Le nozze di Figaro" (Journal of the Royal Musical Association 133, no. 1 (2008): 68-91)

2009: Ian Woodfield, Mozart's 'Cosí fan tutte': A Compositional History (Boydell Press, 2008)

2008: Karol Berger, Bach's Cycle, Mozart's Arrow. An Essay on the Origins of Musical Modernity (University of California Press, 2007)

© Mozart Society of America

Contact Us!